CYCLING | McCrystal powers to victory at round three of The Bike Station League

R-L: Alan Bingham leads Bryan McCrystal, Liam Dolan and Gary Gorman in last week’s Bike Station League

Round three of The Bike Station Summer league saw the action play out on the old Newry Road on Thursday night — a course that is either extremely fast going downhill or extremely hard going uphill!

In Race One, the scratch group quickly ate into the handicap and by the halfway mark had caught all the groups in front. Not long into the third lap a bunch had formed at the head of the race when Bryan McCrystal of Team Strata Velo Revolution put in a massive acceleration to forge clear along with Alan Bingham, Gary Gorman & Liam Dolan.

This group of four continued to put time into all those behind and in the sprint for the win McCrystal was victorious ahead of defending league champion Bingham with Stamullen’s Gorman rounding out the podium.

In Race Two, again the last group on the road, group three, caught all those in front of them and it was Cuchulainn’s Conor McCrory who took the win ahead of Armagh Down’s Philip Patterson.

Another Cuchulainn rider, Jamie O’Hare finished in third. It was an impressive sprint from O’Hare who, as a group two rider, was able to mix it with the stronger group three riders on the finishing line. Nuala O’Donoghue was the first lady home on the night.

On the open racing scene the action moved to Bohermeen in Co Meath. The main event as a 130km affair where Liam Dolan bridged the gap to the leading break in the final 10k and took fourth place in the sprint finish. In the A4 event, Aaron McCann came home in eighth place, his first result of the season on the road.

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.