NEFL | Last-gasp Lanigan goal kills off Muirhevnamor’s Leinster Cup hopes

Leinster Senior Cup 1st Round | Muirhevnamor 3–4 Mullingar Ath

Eoin Lanigan’s last-gasp winner ended Muirhevnamor’s Leinster Senior Cup dreams as the NEFL Premier Division champions lost by the odd goal in seven to Mullingar Athletic at Oriel Park on Sunday.

Despite coming under pressure in the opening 20 minutes, Muirhevnamor drew first blood when Billy Smith, one of six changes to the team that drew 2–2 with Quay Celtic on Wednesday night, marked his return to the side by latching onto Tiarnan Mulvenna’s pass to fire home.

The midlanders hit back after the break with goals from Ryan Norris and Keith Hope to put them in the driving seat as the game approached the final 10 minutes.

Sean Maguire’s side rallied, though, and Philip Duffy pulled them level with eight minutes to go when he headed home after a Mulvenna free-kick crashed off the upright.

Teenager Norris, who caused Muirhevnamor problems throughout, put the Leinster Senior League side back in front but Mulvenna’s 88th-minute equaliser left the sides locked at three goals apiece.

It looked like extra-time was on the cards but Muirhevnamor were undone when Lanigan seized onto a loose ball from Mickey O’Kane to break free and finish past Michael Cooney to give Mullingar a late, late win.

MUIRHEVNAMOR: Michael Cooney, Craig Dixon, Jimmy Cooney, Phillip Duffy, Stephen Smith, Brendan Hughes, Mickey O’Kane, Harry McShane, David Mahony, Billy Smith, Tiarnan Mulvenna.

Before you go…

If you found this article helpful, click the 👏 button below or share the article on Facebook so your friends can benefit from it too.

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.