LADIES GAA | Louth U14s complete a clean sweep of trophies

Wee County make it four out of four with victory in Leinster Blitz

The Louth U14 team pictured after winning the Leinster Blitz in Portlaoise recently

2017 has been a year to remember for the Louth Ladies U14 team who took part in four competitions and managed to be successful in them all!

The squad was only assembled two weeks before the start of the Leinster League season but that did not hinder a quite remarkable bunch of young girls.

First up was the Leinster Shield, which Louth captured with a comprehensive victory over Carlow in Clane back in May. Team captain Mia Duffy proudly lifted the trophy.

The following week the girls were off to Portlaoise to take part in their first All Ireland Blitz and after group wins over Sligo, Offaly and Kilkenny, the girls qualified for the final where Caoimhe Boyle led the team to victory over Westmeath.

Just two weeks later, the girls were on the road again for the All Ireland C Blitz in Kinnegad where Roscommon, Wicklow and Antrim provided the opposition.

On what was a horrible wet day in the Lake County, the girls, who now had a number of new players on the panel, qualified for the final where they defeated Antrim. This time it was Nessa Reilly who had the privilege of accepting the cup on behalf of the team.

Louth’s Caitlin O’Reilly receives the U14 Leinster Blitz trophy

The girls were back in Portlaoise recently for the Leinster Blitz where they met Kilkenny, Offaly and Longford.

A panel of 33 players, along with the injured Kaylin Nugent, travelled and throughout the course of the three group games they give an exhibition of their skills to book their place in another final.

The opposition here was provided by Kilkenny and, true to form, the Wee County were victorious in their fourth successive final of the year.

Playing against the stiff breeze in the first half the girls were 1–2 to 1–0 ahead with the goal coming from the boot of Mia Duffy.

Louth put the game to bed in the opening five minutes of the second half with four goals from Sarah Gilmore (2–0), Roisin Maguire and Ellen McBride.

This allowed the management team of Martin Duffy, Brian Brady and Gerry Roe to give the whole panel some final experience and it was sub Ciara Lennon who completed the goalscoring in the closing minutes.

The Louth U14 team pictured with the Leinster Shield after their win over Carlow

The final whistle sounded with the final score of 6–6 to 2–0 in favour of the girls in red, and the celebrations could begin in earnest, for this remarkable achievement. This time it was Caitlin O’Reilly who was presented with the cup.

The strength of the panel is evident from the fact that Louth only conceded 7–9 on the day and scored a total of 16–28, with 16 girls getting their name on the scoresheet.

The panel in Portlaoise was as follows: Rebecca Lambe Fagan (Dowdallshill), Amy Farrell (Glyde Rangers), Caitlin O’Reilly (Oliver Plunketts), Ciara Callan (Naomh Martin), Sophie Turley (Naomh Fionnbarra), Caoimhe Boyle (Stabannon), Louise Johnson (O’Raghallaighs), Nessa Reilly (0–2) (Geraldines), Mia Duffy (1–2) (St Mary’s), Molly Matthews (0–1) (St Fechins), Rachel Leonard (Glen Emmets), Roisin Maguire (2–6) (St Kevins), Sarah Gilmore (2–2) (Westerns), Ellen McBride (5–2) (St Brides), Ciara Ni Criosta (0–3) (Newtown Blues), Leah McArdle (1–0) (Geraldines), Sarah Roe (1–0) (Dowdallshill), Hannah McCarthy (0–1) (Glen Emmets), Saoirse Butterly (St Patrick’s), Alice Ferguson (0–1) (Cooley), Kerrie Litchfield (Kilkerley), Caoibhean Brady (Kilkerley), Emily Johnson (O’Raghallaighs), Caitlin Carroll (0–2) (St Mary’s), Caoimhe Crichton (Dowdallshill), Abi Keenan (0–1) (Roche), Aine Carolan (Glen Emmets), Rebecca Tully (0–1) (Glen Emmets), Zoe McGahon (1–2) (Geraldines), Ciara Lennon (3–2) (Kilkerley), Ella McEntaggart (Kilkerley), Maeve McNamee (Stabannon), Enya Kampes (Kilkerley) and Kaylin Nugent (Newtown Blues).

The Louth U14 Dowdallshill contingent of Abi Keenan, Sarah Roe, Caoimhe Crichton And Rebecca Lambe Fagan pictured with the Wee County’s four trophies

Other girls who played their part throughout the year are: Kerrie Anne Darcy (Geraldines), Ciara Carolan (St Patrick’s), Ava Briscoe (St Fechins), Beth Hughes (Geraldines), Pia McCann (Glen Emmets),Kelly Callaghan (St Mary’s) and Alannah Tinelly (St Brides).

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.