GREYHOUNDS | Woods’ pup maintains his impressive start at Dundalk Stadium

Build-up continues to next week’s Racing Post International

Action from Dundalk Stadium

It could not have gone any better for Thomas Woods with the first greyhound he has owned.

From Louth Village, he has Furry Slipper in training with Henry Holcroft in Drogheda, and the pup is unbeaten in two starts.

He was an all-the-way winner in Friday’s final of the Teelan Decorating N1/N2 400.

Furry Slipper reached the first bend ahead of Footfield Blaze and favourite Tullymurry Tiger, and despite coming under pressure from both those opponents late on, the 6/4 chance made it by a neck and a short-head in 21.79.

It was a rough night for the bookmakers. On a 10-race card, there were seven winning favourites, while one joint-favourite also obliged.

Saturday’s programme saw Laurence Jones send out Tonto Choice to win for Clones owner, Brendan Monaghan. He got up on the line to deny the fast-starting Brewers Deal by a short-head in 22.03.

Dundalk-based bookmaker, Barney O’Hare, sponsor of the upcoming Bar-One Racing Irish Sprint Cup, teamed with Ambrose Quinn to win a semi-final of the Dundalk Stadium A2 525.

Young Willie Mc came from off the pace set by Tinas Rosie to win comfortably by three-and-a-half lengths in a fastest-of-the-weekend 28.78.

The final of this event is one of a number which will be run off on Racing Post International night, Wednesday, July 12th next.

That will be a busy day for local sport, as horse racing will precede the dogs at Dundalk Stadium, and across town in Oriel Park, Dundalk FC entertain Rosenborg in the first leg of their Champions League tie.

Greyhound Results

Friday, June 30th

Race 1: Showdown won in 21.79 for Judy McCusker and Hannahstown trainer Seamus McCarty; Race 2: So Its Goldie won in 29.23 for Bernard McReynolds and Terence Rafferty (Belfast); Race 3: If Know won in 19.06 for Paul Gallagher and Willie Mullan and Derry trainer William Mullan; Race 4: Furry Slipper won 21.79 for Thomas Woods and Drogheda trainer Henry Holcroft; Race 5: Black Jack Davy won in 30.59 for Stephen Munroe and Jonathan Fegan (Newry); Race 6: Vaguely Noble won in 30.17 for Declan Mandy and agent Michael Flynn (Carbury); Race 7: Rathnasare Champ won in 21.50 for Pull-Like-A-Dog-Syndicate and Crookedwood trainer Francis Murray; Race 8: Forest Natalee won in 21.43 for Kevin Hutton and Rathkenny trainer Martin Lanney; Race 9: Tyrur Kerri won in 31.17 for owner/trainer Paul Whyte (Lifford); Race 10: Lisnastrane Gold won in 30.53 for Donal Corr (Coalisland).

Saturday, July 1st

Race 1: Catunda Robert won in 29.38 for Michael Byrne and trainer Thomas Lynch; Race 2: Frisky Leader won in 21.53 for Brendan and James Mullan and Newry trainer Brendan Mullan; Race 3: Go Rae won in 21.66 for owner/trainer Brian Robinson (Coalisland); Race 4: Tontos Choice won in 22.03 for Brendan Monaghan and Carrickmacross trainer Laurence Jones; Race 5: Swift Aztec won in 29.14 for Stephen Townsley and Rathkenny trainer Martin Lanney; Race 6: No race; Race 7: Corner Bounty won in 29.20 for Martin Kelly (Coalisland); Race 8: Corner Shift won in 29.54 for Martin Kelly (Coalisland); Race 9: Prince Of Steel won in 29.17 for John Cornally and Castleblayney trainer Catherine Kerr; Race 10: Young Willie Mc won in 28.78 for Ambrose Quinn and Barney O’Hare and Craigavon trainer Ambrose Quinn; Race 11: Highview Blossom won in 29.05 for Donald O’Neill (Coalisland).

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.