GREYHOUNDS | Out The Rock runs out the gate to give Lawrence victory at Dundalk

Action at Dundalk Stadium. PICTURE: CIARAN CULLIGAN

Such was the big entry for the Barber Kennels A4/A5 at Dundalk Stadium last weekend, the competition was extended to cater for 72 dogs, with 12 first round heats taking place over the weekend.

A batch of 10 went ahead on Friday, and the winners included Out The Rock, owned and trained by Colm Lawrence in Blackrock.

He made all the running in the white jacket, and eventually saw off Peregrine Diaz by almost two lengths in 29.21.

The fastest time of the entire round was set by Newry raider, Frisky Luck, a superb 28.66 effort. He is from Brendan Mullan’s Newry kennel.

Saturday’s action produced a win for Absolute Red, trained in Togher by Michael Doyle. He owns the heavyweight fawn along with Cathrine Johannsson, and the trap one runner recorded a career-best 21.89 in beating Long Neck three-and-a-half lengths.

The card included two semi-finals of the Dundalk Stadium Open 550, the second of which fell to Tammen Twister, the property of Martina McCann, Dromiskin.

Trained by Ambrose Quinn, he flew out of four, and went on to get the better of Drumsna Star by four-and-a-half lengths in 30.00.

Ambrose also qualified Young Willie Mc from the opening eliminator. He owns this fellow with bookmaker, Barney O’Hare, and saw him finish runner-up to Ballymac Galway, who clocked 30.04.

Laurence Jones, who sent out Tontos Choice to win a heat of the Barber Kennels A4/A5 the night before, followed up with Quandrum in a semi-final of the Racecourse Road A3 525.

He owns the son of Premier Fantasy and Speed Dial with his Blackrock-based brother, Brian. Quandrum earned a photo finish verdict over Murray Rock in 29.00.

Dundalk Stadium Greyhound Results

Friday, May 26th

Race 1: Tontos Choice won in 29.21 for Brendan Monaghan and Carrickmacross trainer Laurence Jones, Race 2: Walkinginmemphis won in 29.06 for Katie McCann and Wexford trainer Jacqueline McCann, Race 3: Sir Boley won in 28.91 for Martin Manning and Hillsborough trainer Ronnie McKeown, Race 4: Out The Rock won in 29.21 for Colm Lawrence (Blackrock), Race 5: Abbylea Mary Ann won in 29.59 for Arthur Ryan and Maureen Finnegan and Swords trainer Maureen Finnegan, Race 6: Go Rae won in 21.75 for owner/trainer Brian Robinson (Coalisland), Race 7: Ennafort Diva won in 29.05 for Jerry Daly (Lusk), Race 8: Frisky Luck won in 28.66 for owner/trainer Brendan Mullan (Newry), Race 9: Kilgraney Sphinx won in 29.18 for owner/trainer David Ritchie (Portaferry), Race 10: Crickleowl Sally won in 29.55 for owner/trainer David Ritchie (Portaferry), Race 11: Airport Power won in 29.35 for Oliver and Finbar Cribben and Skerries trainer Marie Gilbert.

Saturday, May 27th

Race 1: Hillcroft Ace won in 19.26 for Patrick Corrigan (Dungannon), Race 2: Brides Honey won in 28.94 for Mark Geraghty and Larry Clancy and Navan trainer Oliver Bray, Race 3: Zoos Bombastic won in 29.24 for Eddie Rushe (Craigavon), Race 4: Absolute Red won in 21.89 for Michael Doyle and Catherine Johannsson (Drogheda), Race 5: Vintage Model won in 21.93 for Aidan Comerford and Skerries trainer Marie Gilbert, Race 6: Prince Of Steel won in 28.86 for John Cornally and Castleblayney trainer Catherine Kerr, Race 7: Tyrur Kerri won in 28.83 for owner/trainer Paul Whyte (Lifford), Race 8: Ballymac Galway won in 30.04 for Aleksander Czarnecki and Oldcastle trainer John McGee, Race 9: Tammen Twister won in 30.00 for Martina McCann and Craigavon trainer Ambrose Quinn, Race 10: Total Commitment won in 21.54 for Right-And-Proper-Syndicate and Newry trainer Barney Mooney, Race 11: Quandrum won in 29.00 for Laurence and Brian Jones and Carrickmacross trainer Laurence Jones, Race 12: Dredfred Preston won in 29.15 for Tara Fitzpatrick (Belfast).

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.