GREYHOUNDS | Noone’s campaigner returns to winning ways at Dundalk

There was a welcome return to form by Thats It at Dundalk Stadium on Friday.

The experienced campaigner recorded a 17th victory from 84 outings for Lordship-based owner/trainer, Peter Noone. He came from behind to beat Kilara Elvira seven lengths in a semi-final of the Stag & Hen Parties A5 525.

Also through to the decider is Holycross Maid, trained by John Durrigan for Dunleer’s Michael Hughes, a well-known former GAA referee. She finished second to Dredfred Preston.

The final draw is as follows — 1 Tinas Ruby, 2 Kilara Elvira, 3 Dredfred Preston, 4 Thats It, 5 Holycross Maid (w), 6 Murray Rock (w).

Dundalk’s Martin Sharkey struck in the opening round of the Down GAA A2 525. His Fane Hye Bhoy led at the first bend on the way to clocking 28.97.

Sharkey also qualified Jaydeel from another heat, and also through to the next stage are other local hopes, Elsa Blue, Calfornia Chrome and Kilara Beauty.

Still involved in the Down GAA A4 from these parts are Quandrum, Blindside and Kilara Vic.

On Saturday, Ring Harbour, a kennel-mate of Kilara Vic, completed a hat-trick for David Dunne in Dromiskin. His previous two wins were over 350 yards, and he produced a career-best moving up to the 400, stopping the clock in a fine 21.56 after making all.

This card also included further competitions which will be decided on Saturday, May 20th when Down GAA hold a fundraiser.

Greyhound Results

Friday, May 5th

Race 1: Dredfred Preston won for Tara Fitzpatrick in Belfast; Race 2: Thats It won for Peter Noone in Lordship; Race 3: Tinas Ruby won for Tracey Muldoon in Ardboe; Race 4: Fane Hye Bhoy won for Martin Sharkey in Dundalk; Race 5: Supior Mac won for Francis Murray in Meath; Race 6: Tucker Foley & Meenagh Magic Finished in a dead heat; Race 7: Dream Knight won for Martin Bray in Navan; Race 8: Boleys Babe won for Ronnie McKeown in Down; Race 9: Beaming Shiraz won for Paul Hennessy in Dublin; Race 10: Act the lig won for Brian Robinson in Coalisland; Race 11: About Alice won for Martin McAliskey.

Saturday, May 6th

Race 1: Fionas Lee won for Paul Hughes in Coalisland; Race 2: Ring Harbour won for David Dunne in Dundalk; Race 3: Rossmore Lil won for Rachel Smyth in Monaghan; Race 4: Airport Power won for Marie Gilbert in Dublin; Race 5: Fridays Forever won for Paul Whyte in Donegal; Race 6: Classical Rover won for Brian Robinson in Coalisland; Race 7: Milldean Marie won for Marie Gilbert; Race 8: Hour Glass Elle won for Leslie Watson in Killyleagh; Race 9: Kilrue Rose won for Ollie O’Sullivan in Navan; Race 10: April Lively won for Larry Clancy in Navan; Race 11: Ronnies Weasel won for John Brady in Virginia; Race 12: Stringer Bell won for Francis Murray in Meath.

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.