GREYHOUNDS | Jaytee makes a bolt from the blue to win Carroll Memorial

The Paddy and Eamon Carroll Memorial A1 620 Final was won by Jaytee Angel, owned by John Tumer and trained by Paul Hennessy. Pictured is the winning connections receiving their prize from members of the Carroll family. L-R: Tommy McLaughlin, Ben, James, Grace, Sinead McCamley, Susan Hennessy, Joe Carroll, Nicole McLaughlin, Sarah Hennessy, Francis Carroll, Nuala Tearney, Claire Kavanagh and Paul Hennessy

Jaytee Angel ran out an impressive winner of the Paddy and Eamon Carroll Memorial at Dundalk Stadium on Saturday evening.

Trained by Paul Hennessy for English owner John Turner, she came from well off the pace to collect the €1,750 prize on offer for the A1 620 competition.

At the top of the home straight, Townspark Gem, Flying Flyer and Dunham Roxy were also in contention, but 4/1 shot Jaytee Angel finished strongest to beat favourite Flying Flyer by two-and-a-half lengths in 33.83.

Earlier, Dundalk’s Paddy Kerr saw his Pacemaker Pat collect by one-and-a-half lengths in 29.33, after taking over at the third bend.

In the penultimate contest, Elsa Blue made it back-to-back victories for Dromiskin-based Martina McCann and Ambrose Quinn. She led from the outset to see off Raving Rabbid by more than one length in 28.94.

The Togher kennel of trainer Michael Doyle struck on the double on Friday. Valeries Master and Inslips Fury, both of which he owns in partnership with Thomas Butterly, did the business impressively.

The former clocked a career-best 28.75 in beating Fine Captain by five lengths, while Inslips Fury came from behind Santas Diamond to win a 550 in 30.19.

South Louth also got on the scoresheet through Petra Burke from Clogherhead. Her Greenbanks Cloda lost maiden status at the sixth attempt, with a fine 28.86 run.

It was a miserable night for the three course bookmakers. Six of the eight favourites obliged.

Greyhound Results

Friday, April 21st

Race 1: Valeries Master won in 28.75 for Michael Doyle and Thomas Butterly (Drogheda); Race 2: Jennys Boy won in 21.58 for Jenny and George Richardson and Carrickmacross trainer Laurence Jones; Race 3: Greenbanks Cloda won in 28.86 for Petra Burke (Drogheda); Race 4: Inslips Fury won in 30.19 for Michael Doyle and Thomas Butterly (Drogheda); Race 5: Central Cloud won in 21.44 for Brendan Duffy (Derry); Race 6: Ice Boy won in 30.53 for Gerard Quinn and Coalisland trainer Brian Robinson; Race 7: Glenbrentonolive won in 19.26 for owner/trainer Vincent Toner (Newry); Race 8: Camilo won in 29.13 for Dwain Gervin and Coalisland trainer Feargal O’Donnell.

Saturday, April 22nd

Race 1: Fridays Minsk won in 19.32 for owner/trainer Paul Whyte (Lifford); Race 2: Fridays Helsinki won in 21.74 for owner/trainer Paul Whyte (Lifford); Race 3: Beaming Sherosh won in 29.60 for Pauline Ryan and Banbridge trainer Willie Connolly; Race 4: Coloured Galaxy won in 29.22 for Brendan O’Callaghan (Shercock); Race 5: Pacemaker Pat won in 29.33 for Patrick Kerr (Dundalk); Race 6: Fridays Luke won in 29.33 for owner/trainer Paul Whyte (Lifford); Race 7: Jaytee Angel won in 33.83 for John Turner and Kilkenny trainer Paul Hennessy; Race 8: Marvellous won in 29.21 for Bernadette Nugent (Naul); Race 9: Knight Emperor won in 21.18 for owner/trainer Oliver Bray (Navan); Race 10: Elsa Blue won in 28.94 for Martina McCann and Ambrose Quinn and trainer Ambrose Quinn; Race 11: Scullys Flo won in 28.70 for owner/trainer Bobby Scullion (Craigavon). Track rated: 0.10 fast for 400 and 0.15 fast for 525 and 620.

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.