GOLF | Fox claims Telford Cup at Greenore

ROUND-UP: Greenore | Ardee | Ballymascanlon | Dunleer GS | Cloverhill

L-R: Kay McCartan (gross winner), Paula McGeough (Serenity Spa, Carrickdale Hotel), Seana McGuinness (overall winner, Lady Captain Patricia Brennan, Captain Eugene Duffy, Emily McGuinness (runner-up) and Marie McAnallen (third place) pictured at Captain Eugene Duffy’s prize giving evening at Greenore Golf Club recently

Greenore Golf Club

Results of The James Telford Cup, sponsored by Trueform on May 28th — 1st: John Fox (20) 38; Gross: Alan McGrath (1) 33; Cat One: Peter Grant (10) 38; Cat Two: Michael McDonnell (12) 36; Cat Three: Colm Smart (17) 38.

Results of the 18 Hole Stableford, sponsored by The Brexit Roll-Up Group on May 27th — 1st: John McCartan (14) 36.

Results of the Open Gents Singles, sponsored by Strain Financial Services on May 23rd — 1st: Paul Haughey (9) 45; 2nd: John Campbell (12) 41; Gross: Phillip Kelly (0) (Co Armagh GC) 38; 3rd: Bernard McShane (18) 41.

Results of the Gents Nine-Hole Qualifying Competition played on May 26th — 1st: Larry Dunne (19) 20.

The Centenary Trophy, kindly sponsored by Helix Innovation Partnerships Ltd, will take place on Sunday, June 4th.

On Saturday, June 3rd there will be a Stableford Voucher Competition kindly sponsored by Mac-Tec and on Sunday, June 11th there the 47th Junior Scratch Cup, kindly sponsored by Sync It, takes place. Entry fee is €30 for visitors and €10 for members.

A Fun Fourball starts on Wednesday, June 7th and continues every Wednesday thereafter. Next Tuesday, May 30th, there will be an Open Gents Singles, kindly sponsored by Seamus McVeigh and the next Open Seniors takes place on Monday, June 19th.

Ardee Golf Club

Results of the 18 Hole Stableford Singles, held on May 27th — 1st: John Leech 43, 2nd: Liam Brien 39, 3rd: Kevin Balfe 38 (on countback), Gross: Donan Hurst 22.

Results of the 18 Holes Stableford Singles, held on May 28th — 1st: John Callan 40, 2nd: Jamie Kelly 39, 3rd: Brendan McEvoy 38 (back nine), Gross: Brendan Lawlor 34.

Results of the 18 Hole Single Stableford, held on May 20th — 1st: Enda Dunne 47, 2nd: David Minogue 44, 3rd: Dominic Kearney 42, Gross: Bobby Rice 34.

Results of the Sean O’Neill Memorial, Singles v Par, held on May 21st — 1st: Liam Leatham three up (back one), 2nd: Austin Carroll three up (back six), 3rd: Ray Dowdall three up, Gross: Liam Travers minus three (back nine).

Results of the 18 Hole Stableford Singles, held on May 18th — 1st: Peter Taaffe 44 (back nine), 2nd: Brendan Healy 44, 3rd: Paul Landy 43, Gross: Joe Landy 34.

Ardee Ladies

Results of the 18 Hole Stroke, sponsored by Hallmore Dance, on May 17th — Class A 1st: Rita Black 71, Class A 2nd: Monica Watters 73, Class B 1st: Ruth Black 71, Class B 2nd: Alison Lawson 72, Class C 1st: Sharon Meehan 63, Class C 2nd: Rose Clarke 71.


Results of the Open Singles held on May 22nd — 1st: Sean Kelleher, 2nd: Martin Donaghy.

Results of the Open Singles, held on May 15th — Mens 1st: Sean Kellegher; 2nd: Stefan Kearney; Ladies 1st: Catherine Sheridan; 2nd: Rosanne Crudden.

Results of the Open Singles held on May 1st — Mens 1st: Paul McGinn; 2nd: Jason Hughes; Ladies 1st: Eilish Grimes; 2nd: Fionnuala Quinn.

Dunleer Golf Society

Sean Mulroy of The Dunleer Inn sponsored the Dunleer Golf Society’s visit to Beaverstown GC on Saturday, May 27th.

Despite it being a very wet day, the scoring was good, mainly due to the excellent condition of the Donabate course and the golfers determination.

The overall winner was Wayne Brady with 39 points. Over the years Wayne has been Mr Consistent and his first overall win was welcomed by all.

The other results were as follows — Cat One 1st: Michael Hughes 38; Cat One 2nd: Ciaran Reynolds 37; Cat One 3rd: Vinnie Shearman 36; Cat Two 1st: Tony Sharkey 37; Cat Two 2nd: Dermot Lawton 36; Cat Two 3rd: John Smith 32; Longest Drive: Ciaran Reynolds; Nearest the Pin: Hugh Callaghan; Two’s: Hugh Callaghan and John Smith.

The next outing is to Roganstown GC on Saturday, June 17th.

Cloverhill Golf Club

The May v Par competition saw the good weather return for play on Sunday and the scoring matched the high temperatures.

The regular improvement in the play of Fintan McAleenan (19) from the start of the year came to the fore once more as he produced an evenly match four up over both nines to finish ahead of the pack on eight-up and claim the winner’s prize.

A seven-up from Colin Pilkington (3) gave him the runners-up spot over another very consistent performer Shane Toale (15) who finished third.

Shane, on six-up, was a countback winner from Declan O’Neill (15), Eamon Devlin (19) and David Hamill (11). Last week’s medal winner, Liam O’Hare and Colum Quinn (28) were next on five-up. Next weekend is a three category competition.

Matchplay competitions

For the first time ever, the opening rounds of the Singles and Pairs Matchplay competitions have been completed on time. Hopefully this is the trend for the remainder of the competitions!

Defending pairs champions Liam O’Hare and John Kelly relinquished their title at the first hurdle to former winners, the Pilkington brothers, Colin and David.

The champions exited with distinction as they were hit by a nine-birdie barrage yet managed to survive until the last green where an eagle put them out of the competition.

There was a second upset as Craig Pearce and Gerard Loye left Daniel Hughes and Mark Shevlin crying into their porridge.

In the singles, Miceal Byrne put paid to treasurer Emmett Fearon and Graham Johnston took the scalp of Gerard Loye with David Hamill putting out Colum Quinn. The next round of matches have to be played by June 21st.

Raymond wins Maritime Round

The club’s seniors were treated to the hottest day of the year so far as they took to the fairways on Thursday morning for a round of the Maritime Trophy.

The 12 hole competitions over the three different course layouts has proven very popular with the seniors whose numbers have increased since they have adopted this format for playing.

Last week it was Raymond McCumiskey (13) who returned the winning score of 29 points which was ywo ahead of club President Pius Tierney (14).

Brendan Hughes (14) beat Raymond Kelly (10) on the countback for third place after they both finished with 25 points.

Friday Open

Edenmore visitor, two handicapper David McAllindon, became the first monthly bonus prize winner for the visitor with the best score.

The €100 bonus, sponsored by BC Electrics, Dundalk, will go nicely with David’s overall win on week three of the Friday Open where his six birdies helped him to a winning score of 42 points.

Indeed, it only took 39 points from Noel McParland (23) to take first prize last Friday as he finished one point ahead of first week Friday Open winner Paddy O’Gorman (18).

On a day when CSS was 36 points, third place was won by visitor Phillip Hughes (16) from Mannan Castle with 33 points.

Wednesday Cup

A level par round over the front nine white markers from club vice-captain Paddy Malone (6) gave him a winning score of 24 points, one better than both Kevin Haughey (23) and Cathal Hughes (18).

Next in line were Jamie Duffy (6) and James Coburn (17) who both finished with 22 points. Paddy, James, David Rafferty and Seamus McCoy are the leading quartet after two rounds over the front nine white markers. Play this week is the second round of five off the back nine green markers.

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.