GOLF | Danny delivers to win Singles Stableford competition at Dundalk

Danny Miele (left) pictured with Brendan Keane

Twelve handicapper Danny Miele took full advantage of the shorter green course to take last week’s Singles Stableford competition with a fine score of 45 points.

Miele went around in 75 gross and will see his handicap cut after he shot a round that included one birdie, 13 pars and four bogeys, with only one of the bogeys producing a return of one point.

He started with three straight pars and a two-point bogey at the index one fourth was followed by another three point par at the fifth.

His one-pointer came at the par five sixth but he got that shot back immediately when the birdied the par five seventh for four points. Two more pars saw him go out in 37 gross and return a score of 23 points.

After a two point par at the 10th and a two par bogey at the 11th, Miele then had a three point par at the 12th and a two point bogey at the 13th before parring his way home for an inward nine of 38 gross and a return of 22.

His overall score of 45 points was two more than Eamonn Laverty (15) who needed two rounds of count back to take second overall from Ultan Gaughran (8) and Sean Gallagher (22).

Gaughran claimed Category One while Gallagher took Category Three with Michael Keating (17) taking Category Two.

Teenager Josh Mackin, now off two, had the best gross with a level par 36 points while Eamonn Laverty was the winner of the 3Ts qualifier and now goes forward to represent the club in the next stage.

Sunday’s competition was also a qualifier for the Harry Walsh Cup which is a matchplay competition for players with a handicap of 17 or higher.

Defending champion Derek Teather was among the 16 qualifiers after shooting an impressive 41 points off 17 while Sean Gallagher (22) was the leading qualifier with a superb score of 43. Nine points covered the 16 qualifiers with the final man making it in on 34/16.

First Round matches must be completed by July 3rd and the draw is: Sean Gallagher v Alan Uzell, Michael Keating v Sean O’Sullivan, Jimmy O’Connor v Ciaran Daly, Michael Byrne v Oliver McGinnity, Derek Teather v Colm Garvey, Sean Quigley v Tony Hanna, John McLaughlin v Harry O’Hanrahan, David Cairns v John Copas, Jim Dearey v Joe Flanagan, John Laverty v JP Connolly, Paul Matthews v Brendan Tinnelly, John McErlean v Nigel Giff, Bill McCarthy v Dessie Corbett, Terry Dillon v Michael Begley, Nicholas MacShane v Benny O’Shaughnessy, PJ Dooley v Eddie McMullin.

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.