DkIT’s Sam Mulroy, Joe O’Donoghue and Niall Kearns

GAA | McEnaney and Mulroy lead the way as DkIT see off Letterkenny

Electric Ireland HE GAA Senior Football Division Two League
Dundalk IT 0–19 Letterkenny IT 2–11

By Conor McKenna at DkIT

DkIT maintained their perfect start to the Electric Ireland HE GAA Senior Football Division Two League campaign with a slender 0–19 to 2–11 victory over Donegal star Michael Murphy’s LYIT on Wednesday night.

A fantastic game of football, played out in awful conditions, opened with a Donal Meegan score for the hosts in the first minute but the Donegal outfit hit back when Enda McCormick pounced on the breaking ball and tapped into an empty net.

The excellent Sam Mulroy responded for DkIT with a ’45, but it wasn’t long before LYIT raised their second green flag with Darragh O’Connor’s effort sailing into the back of the net, moving his side 2–2 to 0–3 ahead after 11 minutes.

Oisin McConville’s side responded well, playing some very nice football at times, and David McGivney’s effort just before half time left the scoreline reading 2–6 to 0–10 in favour of LYIT at the interval.

DkIT came storming out of the traps after the break, scoring the first five points of the second half, three of which came from the boot of Tadhg McEnaney to give the hosts a three-point lead.

It looked set to be an easy ride for the home side heading into the last quarter when LYIT were reduced to 14 men after Michael Carroll was sent off for two yellow cards.

However, the visitors responded well and a ’45 from Michael Langan left just one point between the sides with time almost up.

McEnaney, though, who was outstanding throughout, sealed the points with a free in the 62nd minute, much to the delight of the DkIT contingent.

The local college now face a long trip to Derry to face Ulster University Coleraine in their final group game.

DUNDALK IT: Joe O’Donoghue; Colm Meegan, Seamus McNally, Conor Lenihan; Ciaran Bellew, Kevin Traynor, Ian Connor; Kelvin McNally, Cormac Daly; Sam Mulroy (0–7, 5f, 1 ‘45), David McGivney (0–2), Aaron O’Brien (0–2); Donal Meegan (0–1), Tadgh McEnaney (0–7, 6f), Ross Nally. Subs: Conor Nicholson for Daly, HT; Terry Donegan for C Lenihan, 47 mins, Sean Marry for R Nally, 54 mins.

Before you go…

If you found this article helpful, click the 👏 button below or share the article on Facebook so your friends can benefit from it too.

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.