GAA | Division One Round-Up

Wins for Mattock, Kilkerley, Cooley and the Mairtins

Geraldines 1–10 Mattock Rangers 2–9

David Reid was the difference yet again as Mattock Rangers left Haggardstown with the two points thanks to a 2–9 to 1–10 win over the Geraldines on Saturday evening.

The former Louth forward hit all but 1–3 of his side’s scores to secure the Collon men a two-point win.

Playing with the aid of the breeze in the first-half, the home side got off to a quick start by going two points clear while at the other end of the pitch they were well served by some good defending by Gareth Neacy.

The Gers should have had more points on the board but were guilty of squandering possession in the final third and after a poor wide, Mattock finally got on the scoreboard through Michael McKeown in the 14th minute before David Reid put the Collon side in front with a brace of efforts.

The score of the first-half came from the right boot of Glen Trainor whose long range point moved the Geraldines two ahead but Mattock finished the half strongly with Reid hitting the back of the net to send the visitors in 1–4 to 0–5 ahead at the interval.

Mattock opened the scoring in the second half with the Gers racking up the wides as well as missing a clear goal chance.

It was all Mattock at this stage with McKeown and Reid, along with midfielder Daniel Bannon, all catching the eye but the hosts brought it back to a two point game before Reid again extended the visitors lead back to three point, 1–9 to 0–9.

A second Mattock goal from substitute James Caraher all but finished the game although Geraldines captain Jim McEneaney did net a late consolation from the penalty spot.

GERALDINES: Darrin Kearney; Kevin Pepper, Nicky Mackin, Paul Clarke (0–1); Robbie Lynch (0–1), Jack Traynor, Gareth Neacy; Matt Corcoran, Michael Rogers (0–4); Josh Arrowsmith, Shane O’Hanlon (0–1), Tiarnan Hand; Glen Traynor (0–2), Jim McEneaney (1–0), Dara Hamill (0–1). Subs: Sean Thornton for M Corcoran; Shane Thornton for J Arrowsmith (BC); James Craven for R Lynch; Nathaniel Cooley for D Hamill.

MATTOCK RANGERS: Mike Englishby; Jack Dunne, Ciaran Calvey, Alan Caraher; Brendan Leacy, Sean Gilsenan, Michael McKeown (0–3); Daniel Bannon, Hugh Donnelly; Cathal Clarke, David Reid (1–6, 3f), Adrian Reid; Daire Englishby, Aaron O’Brien, Ryan Leneghan. Subs: Terry Donegan for J Dunne; James Caraher (0–1) for A O’Brien; Jason McKeown for R Leneghan.

REFEREE: Paul Kneel.

All White on the night for Cooley

Cooley Kickhams 3–14 Ardee St Mary’s 3–10

Brian White was the star of the show as Cooley Kickhams beat Ardee St Mary’s at Fr McEvoy Park.

The peninsula side led 2–5 to 0–7 at the break with Shane Marks rounding off a good move to hit the net in the fourth minute before White gave Cooley a four-point lead with a penalty on the stroke of half time.

Robbie Leavy, Darren Clarke and Alan Kirk all hit the net for Hugh Durrigan’s mid-Louth outfit in the second-half with former county star Clarke helping himself to 1–5.

Cooley, though, tagged on 10 scores in the second period with White’s 55th minute goal crucial in the hoe side recording the win.

COOLEY KICKHAMS: Neil Gallagher; Dylan McGarrity, Conor Kenny, Patrick Hanlon; Gerry Malone, Richard Brennan, Shane Marks (1–0); Peter Thornton, Darren Marks (0–2); Keith White, Michael Rafferty (0–1), Aoghan McGuinness (0–1); Emmet Rogan (0–3), Brian White (2–5), Thomas McGuinness (0–1).

ST MARY’S: Peter Duffy; Eamon Callaghan, Karl Faulkner, Niall Carroll; Conor Keenan, Eimhin Keenan, Brendan Matthews; Ronan Carroll, Robbie Leavy (1–0); Daire McConnon, Darren Clarke (1–5), Kian Moran (0–1); Alan Kirk (1–3), Paudy Clarke (0–1), John Bingham. Sub: Mark Fay for N Carroll.

REFEREE: Jonathan Conlon.

Kilkerley off to a flying start

Kilkerley Emmets 2–13 Newtown Blues 1–13

Tadhg McEneaney’s tally of 1–7 helped Kilkerley Emmets to a fine opening day win over Newtown Blues.

The sides went in level at seven points apiece at the break with McEneaney, Shane Lennon (0–3 each) and Shaun McElroy on target for the home side.

Hugh McGinn — with four frees — along with Ian Connor Robert Carr and Ciaran Downey kept the Blues ticking over.

Conal McEneaney’s goal, straight from the restart, propelled Kilkerley in front and they never gave their lead up with McEneaney and Lennon adding scores at vital times.

The Blues rallied and late points from Carr and Colm Judge left a goal between the sides but Kilkerley held on for a good win.

KILKERLEY EMMETS: Rian Hand; Niall Mulholland, Adam Shields, Dylan Lynch (0–1); Cormac Bellew, Alan McGeough, Micheal McGeown; Andrew McGuill, James Shields; Conal McEneaney (1–0), Shaun McElroy, Ciaran Bellew; Tadhg McEneaney (1–7), Shane Lennon (0–6), Daniel McKeown. Subs: James Shields for S McElroy; Cillian Kampes for M McGeown; Pearse Hughes for S Lennon.

NEWTOWN BLUES: Dean Martin; Niall Costello, Fergal O’Donoghue, John Connolly; Kevin Carr, Stephen Moonan, Ian Connor (1–1); Cormac Reynolds, Ciaran Downey (0–2), Paul Moore, Hugh McGinn (0–4), Lorcan McQuillan; Colm Judge (0–2), Robert Carr (0–4), Ross Nally.

REFEREE: Noel Hand.

Mulroy’s sharpshooting edges Mairtins over the line

Naomh Mairtin 1–19 St Patrick’s 3–9

Despite conceding three goals, Naomh Mairtin had enough firepower to overcome St Patrick’s in Monasterboice.

The Mairtins had the wind at their backs in the first half and had the better of the opening exchanges to lead 0–5 to 0–1 after 11 minutes.

Pat’s, however, grew into the game and they scored 1–3 in the space of five minutes with Jason Woods raising the green flag.

John Clutterbuck scored a cracking goal at the other end to draw the Mairtins level and they tagged on the last point of the half to lead by one at the break.

Eoin O’Connor and Aidan McCann converted for Davey Nelson’s side in the opening minutes of the second-half but the Mairtins added another six of their own with the dead ball kicking of Sam Mulroy a feature of their win.

Goals from O’Connor and Woods again left Pat’s four behind going into the final seven minutes of play but the Jocks held on to see it out with Mulroy, John Clutterbuck and Val Leddy all playing starring roles.

NAOMH MAIRTIN: Jamie Mulholland; Paul Berrill, Thomas Sullivan, Jack McCarville; Padraig McDonagh, Benny Reilly, John Clutterbuck (1–1); Val Leddy, Sam Mulroy (0–7, 6f); Stephen Campbell (0–2), JP Rooney (0–3), Conor Healy; Craig Lynch (0–1), Brian Berrill, Conor Whelan (0–3, 1f). Subs : Alan Downey for T Sullivan; Paddy Usher (0–1) for J Mulholland; Eamon McQuillan for B Berrill.

ST PATRICK’S: Rory Duffy; Daniel Rice, Dessie Finnegan, Darren O’Hanlon; Kevin White, Kevin Toner, Ross Murphy; Paddy Keenan (0–3), Thomas McCann; Eoin Lafferty (0–1), Eoin O’Connor (1–2), Aidan McCann (0–3); Jason Woods (2–0), Evan White, Conor Grogan. Subs: Patrick Kirk, Sean McGeough, Alan O’Connor.

REFEREE: Patsy Connelly.

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.