FOOTBALL | Muirhevnamor and Rangers pick up gongs at NEFL Awards night

Mulvenna named Manager of the Year while Smith and McLaughlin take home Player of the Year trophies

NEFL fixture secretary Declan Jordan presents the Premier Division Player of the Year award to Muirhevnamor’s Billy Smith

Muirhevnamor’s very first North East Football League Premier Division title win was recognised at the league’s annual awards ceremony which was held in the Ardboyne Hotel in Navan on Friday night.

Manager Tiarnan Mulvenna was presented with the Manager of the Year award after guiding his local club to the championship in his first full season as a coach.

Striker Billy Smith, whose goals played an integral role in Muirhevnamor’s success, was named as the NEFL Premier Division Player of the Year.

Elsewhere, Rangers captain Anto McLaughlin for rewarded for his his fine performances in the club’s promotion winning campaign, picking up the Division Two Player of the Year award.

OMP United received the Club of the Year award with Referee of the Year going to Charley Pierce of the Louth Branch ISRS.

The special guests on the night were LFA assistant treasurer Richard Kennedy, and his wife Georgina while one of the biggest cheers of the night was reserved for a special commemorative award to retiring NEFL executive committee member Jimmy Mangan after 14 years of service.

NEFL Honours List 2016/2017

Brady’s Seat Premier Division

Winners: Muirhevnamor; Runners-up: Newfoundwell

O’Neills Sports Division One

Winners: OMP United; Runners-up: Black Bull

Brady’s Seat Division Two

Winners: Rangers FC; Runners-up: Kells-Blackwater

Division Three League

Winners: Virginia Celtic; Runners-up: Albion Rovers

Division Four League

Winners: Skryne-Tara; Runners-up: Park Celtic Summerhill

O’Neill Shield

Winners: Park Celtic; Runners-up: Summerhill Virginia Celtic

Kilmessan Shield

Winners: Quay Celtic, Runners-up: Bellurgan Utd

Gerry Reilly Memorial Cup

Winners: Ardee Celtic 2nds; Runners-up: Park Celtic Summerhill

Fitzsimons Cup

Winners: Carrick Rovers; Runners-up: Bailieboro Celtic

Brady’s Seat Reserve Cup

Winners: Ardee Celtic 2nds; Runners-up: Kingscourt Harps 3rds

Tully Bookmakers Challenge Cup

Winners: Navan Cosmos; Runners-up: Bellurgan Utd

Brady’s Seat Premier Reserve League

Winners: Duleek; Runners-up: Newfoundwell

Justin Barber’s A Reserve League

Winners: Kingscourt Harps 3rds; Runners-up: Navan Town

Brady’s Seat B Reserve League

Winners: Albion Rovers 2nds; Runners-up: Ardee Celtic 3rds

NEFL Player of the Year Winners

Premier Division

Billy Smith (Muirhevnamor)

Division One

Tom Wynne (Enfield Celtic)

NEFL vice-chairman John Gorman presents the Division Two Player of the Year award to Anto McLaughlin of Rangers FC

Division Two

Anto McLaughlin (Rangers FC)

Division Three

Mark Hetherton (Virginia Celtic)

Division Four

Jason Fox (Skryne-Tara)

Oscar Traynor Player of the Year

Dylan Doyle (OMP Utd)

Annual Awards 2016/2017

NEFL registrar Damien Smith presents the Manager of the Year award to Muirhevnamor’s Tiarnan Mulvenna

Manager of the Year

Tiarnan Mulvenna (Muirhevnamor)

Referee of the Year

Charley Pierce (Louth Branch ISRS)

Commemorative Award

NEFL vice-chairman Jimmy Mangan

Club of the Year 2017

OMP United

O’Neill’s Sports Team of the Month Awards 2017

January: Skryne-Tara
February: Albion Rovers
March: Virginia Celtic
April: Park Celtic Summerhill

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.