CAMOGIE | Wee County’s Camogie stars honoured at very first awards night

Louth Camogie U16 Player of the Year and Player’s Player of the Year Niamh Cunningham (centre) receives her award from Louth Camogie County Board Chairperson Lorraine Young and Leinster Camogie Chairperson Pat Martin

The inaugural Louth Camogie Star Awards took place at the St Kevin’s CLG Community Centre recently. The ceremony was attended by parents, club and county representatives, as well as the girls and team management/selectors.

Although this was the first event of this type in the county, the seeds were sown a few years ago when the Louth Camogie Development squads were formed.

The Wee County had two extremely successful squads in 2017, both managing to play in inter county blitzes and challenge matches. The U14 squad made it to the final of their division in the All-Ireland blitz, a feat which no other Louth team has ever completed.

The awards meeting kicked off with a welcome speech from the guest of honour, Leinster Camogie Chairperson, Pat Martin. Leinster has become closely involved with the development of Louth Camogie and has helped develop the structures necessary to grow the sport in the county.

The U14 and U16 Louth Camogie squads pictured at the recent awards night

Pat spoke about the recent juvenile team successes, as well as the 2016 and 2017 Louth senior inter county team, the first for a number of years.

Louth County Board Chairperson, Lorraine Young, was next to speak, thanking the girls for attending on the night but also for their efforts each week for their clubs and, in particular, their county.

Lorraine also read out a letter of support from Sabrina Larkin, Leinster Development Coach, who has been the driving force behind the recent extremely successful camogie secondary school blitzes.

The awards ceremony, which was hosted by Louth PRO Seamus Capplis, was an audio visual event, with plenty of fun pictures and lots of audio from the girls who really enjoyed the night.

Louth Camogie U14 Player of the Year and Players of the Year Layah Maher receives her award from Louth Camogie County Board Chairperson Lorraine Young and Leinster Camogie Chairperson Pat Martin

Some of the awards were humorous in nature but at the heart of all of them were genuine players who have strived for improvement either on the pitch or off, win or lose.

The awards included a players choice award which coincidentally was the exact same as the players of the year chosen by the awards committee, both which proved to be popular and well-deserved choices.

Pat Martin and Lorraine Young presented all of the awards. Such was the success that we expect this to become an annual event and hopefully including the senior players in the future.

Before you go…

If you found this article helpful, click the ? button below or share the article on Facebook so your friends can benefit from it too.

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.